Legislative Coordinating Commission Resolution Establishing the Advisory Committee to the LCC - Office on the Economic Status of Women

<u>Representative Murphy</u> moves that the Legislative Coordinating Commission adopt the following resolution:

Be it Resolved, by the Legislative Coordinating Commission of the State of Minnesota:

- **1. Authority.** The Advisory Committee to the LCC Office on the Economic Status of Women (OESW) is established under authority provided in Minnesota Statutes 3.305, Subdivision 6.
- **2. Membership.** The Advisory Committee to the OESW consists of:
 - a. two members of the House of Representatives, including one member appointed by the Speaker, and one member appointed by the Minority Leader;
 - b. two members of the Senate, including one member appointed by the Majority Leader, and one member appointed by the Minority Leader;

The House and Senate must make their appointments by October 1, 2014.

- **3. Organization.** The Director of the OESW shall convene the first meeting of the Advisory Committee, at which the Advisory Committee must elect its co-chairs, a senator and a representative.
- **4. Duties.** The Advisory Committee must study and make recommendations regarding the economic status of women in the state of Minnesota. The duties of members of the Advisory Committee are to:
 - a. attend OESW Advisory Committee meetings;
 - **b.** advise OESW on key issues and priorities;
 - **c.** provide suggestions and responses to OESW on current and emerging issues that pertain to the economic status of women in Minnesota;
 - **d.** maintain an awareness of issues pertaining to the economic status of women in Minnesota.
- 5. Expenditures; Support.
 - **a.** Members of the Advisory Committee are eligible for per diem payments and reimbursement of expenses under section 3.099.
 - **b.** Appropriate staff of the Office on the Economic Status of Women and the Legislative Coordinating Commission must provide support to the Advisory Committee.
- **6. Expiration.** The Advisory Committee expires January 1, 2015.